Home YSF » YSF Committee

YSF Committee

YSF 2025 Organizing Committee

Email: ysf@2025.febscongress.org

  • Portrait of H. Atakan Ekiz H. Atakan Ekiz
  • Portrait of Duygu Harmancı Karagülle Duygu Harmancı Karagülle (co-Chair)
  • Portrait of Burak Barut Burak Barut 
  • Portrait of Öykü Gönül Geyik Öykü Gönül Geyik 
  • Portrait of Erhan Canbay Erhan Canbay

Meet the Organizing Committee members

Asst. Prof. Dr H. Atakan Ekiz (co-Chair) – Izmir Institute of Technology, Izmir, Türkiye. Atakan's lab studies the role of noncoding RNAs in tumor immunity and develops visual data analysis interfaces to facilitate high-throughput data analysis.

Duygu Harmancı Karagülle, PhD (co-Chair) – NHP Pharma Inc., Izmir, Türkiye. Duygu, whose PhD and postdoctoral research focused on the extracellular matrix, miRNAs and biosensors, currently works for a pharmaceutical company developing human and animal health products.

Assoc. Prof. Burak Barut – Karadeniz Technical University, Trabzon, Türkiye. Burak's lab studies photodynamic therapy effects of novel photosensitizers.

Asst. Prof. Dr Öykü Gönül Geyik – Istinye University, İstanbul, Türkiye. Öykü’s lab is focused on tumor heterogeneity-related anticancer drug resistance mechanisms.

Erhan Canbay, PhD – Ege University, Izmir, Türkiye. Erhan's research interests include bioanalytical method development including electrochemical biosensors and LC-MS/MS based techniques.

YSF 2025 Committee Advisors

FEBS Careers of Young Scientists Committee members: Irene Díaz-Moreno (Chair), Vlastimil Kulda, Anna Jagusiak

  • Portrait of Irene Diaz-Moreno Irene Díaz-Moreno Institute for Chemical Research, University of Seville, Spain
  • Portrait of Vlastimil Kulda Vlastimil Kulda Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Portrait of Anna Jagusiak Anna Jagusiak Jagiellonian University, Poland

FEBS has twin commitments to high-quality publications and the promotion of molecular biosciences. As a charitable academic organization,
FEBS uses income from the journals to fund its diverse activities, including support for the FEBS Congress.